Nicaragua, Day 1

20121108-235208.jpg

Flight is completely different when you’re in the aisle seat. Last time I flew into Nicaragua, in April, I looked out of the window for almost the whole flight. The sun was setting by the time I was over the ocean, slowly dimming until there was only blackness below. Once over land, darkness was punctuated by sporadic cities visible by their pulsing lights, mountainous horizons, and faraway storms, my imagination filling in everything unknown with whatever it wanted, feared, or hoped for.

Adventure. Danger. Need. A million secret lives below with secret ambitions and stories. Nicaragua lurked below, ominously heralded by lightning and turbulence.

This time, though, I was stuck in the aisle and missed out on some of the deep thoughts that come naturally from being so high above the world. Instead, I read while Britney read next to me and we alternated naps.

Blood of Brothers is one of the most fantastic books I’ve ever read. It’s by a man named Stephen Kinzer, a freelance journalist who moved to Nicaragua right before the Somoza regime was overthrown by the Sandinistas, and who stayed in the country through it all.

I both admire and envy him – awed by his bravery and jealous of his experience.

It’s time to meet people myself, remember everything I can, connect, laugh, love, learn, and write it all down. The time is finally here. πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “Nicaragua, Day 1”

  1. I’m excited for you! My mom will be right near you guys, in Guatemala. She is on her pedal bike with her long haired boyfriend. They are headed towards Nicaragua… look for them! hahaha

What do you think?

