One Day Until Nicaragua . . .

philanthropy in Nicaragua

That’s right, everybody, the trip is almost here . . . the dream is about to happen.

I get to go to work today and think about it all day . . .

Before then, though, I wanted to get out some updates and let you know some of the awesome plans I have for this trip.

Donations update

Last time I flew into to Nicaragua with eight of my friends in my wallet . . . people who donated a few bucks or a lot so I could help out random people I met along the way.  This time 26 have donated a total of $645!  That is so awesome – thank you so much!  With how far $250 took us, I can’t imagine what we’ll be able to do with more, and most importantly . . . I’m really excited that more people were involved this time!  Thank you for making that happen!

If you haven’t donated yet, please do so!  Whether it’s $5 or $50, it doesn’t matter – I’m going to try to use it in the best way possible.  You can send it by Paypal or deposit to Wells Fargo (Jefferson Cloward’s “Nicaragua Donations” account), but make sure to do it today so I have everything ready to go for tomorrow!

What exactly I’ll be doing this time

While I try to keep a big chunk of my trips open to spontaneity, I do have some great plans I’m really excited for.

  1. Working in “La Chureca.”  If you haven’t heard about this place before, it’s the city dump in Managua, and is an example of extreme poverty.  There are about 1,000 people who live in the dump and many others who live outside but come in each day to sort through trash and sell what they can.  Over half of them are under 18, many of the girls are sold in prostitution to the truck drivers who bring in the trash, and the people suffer from lung failure from constantly breathing smoke, STD’s, injuries, glue addiction, and many other things.  But . . . it’s a way of life, it’s what these people know, and they can’t simply be put out on the street.  There are a lot of groups who offer education, medical care, support for girls to prevent prostitution, and other training to help them transition to safer and more healthy jobs.  It’s an important thing to experience.
  2. I’ll be working with Project Schoolhouse to help their in-country coordinator, María Inez, administer the first literacy test to one of the communities.  Tab Barker, the director of the program, has been building schools and water systems in the region for years and would love to start seeing more quantitative results so he can gauge the impact they’re making.  I wrote an article about the organization, check it out. 

From there . . . it’s fairly open.  I have a few more contacts to get a hold of today, but Britney and I will just keep our eyes open and see where we want to go when we get down there!  I love having an open schedule.

What you can expect while I’m gone

I’m going to try to post something daily to this blog, just a picture and a couple hundred words.  I’m taking along with me a Zagg keyboard that connects via bluetooth to my phone, so my iPhone is going to be somewhat of a lap top while I’m gone – I’ll be able to type quickly into my journal and also type something up for you guys.  I hope you like it!

If you do, I hope you’ll be really annoying to your friends and link and “share” every single post!  Seriously though, I’d always appreciate it 🙂

Well . . . it’s that time again.  Ya know, for the daily grind to begin.

I guess I can’t complain much – this is the last time I have to “work” for a couple of amazing weeks.

 

 

What do you think?

