Donate to a Nicarguan Through Me – Round 2!

TWP donations

Well, everybody – the time has come again! 

Two weeks from today I’ll be waking up in my taxi-driver friend’s home in the center of the chaotic city of Managua, Nicaragua, eating slow-cooked beans and fried eggs, looking out from the iron gates on the door and watching horse-pulled carts move past while jotting in my journal.  I’ll be ready to go out, meet new people, learn a million new things . . . and do something to help random people I meet along the way.

I’m so excited – and I want you to come with me!

Last time I invited you to donate to a Nicaraguan through me and it was great for everyone involved.  I kept my eyes open, asked local community leaders who could use some help, and your money went directly to three great people – I want to do that again, but hope to involve more people.

The articles about those three people have become the most popular on this blog – there have been over 1,500 views and hundreds of “likes”, up-votes, and comments on forums, Facebook, Reddit, and other areas of the web, and many people have asked me to let them know when I was accepting donations again so they could be a part of it.  I think it’s awesome and inspiring that so many of you are as excited about this as I am!

What The Weekend Philanthropist is all about

I’ve always wanted to do something important, but eight months ago I decided to get serious – to set a plan and to make it happen.  Here it is:

TWPhilanthropist mission statement

I recognized that there were many things I didn’t understand about the world . . . and that’s putting it lightly.  I wanted to experience as much as possible, make friends throughout the world, and feel their struggles, strengths, and joy . . . to find something I could do to help.

My goal for this trip

For my last trip, eight people donated a total of $250 and we did a lot with that money.  My goal for this trip isn’t to raise a certain amount of money, but to involve more people.  I would love for 40 people to join me on my trip – be it with $5, $10, $25, $50 – it doesn’t matter the amount donated.

I sincerely feel that when you help lift another person you’re lifted as well.  That phrase, in fact, is one I hesitate to say because . . . it’s extremely cliche, first of all, but also because “lifting another person” implies that we’re higher than they are.  I’ve seen how happy these people are, how strong they are, and how well they carry the burdens they do.  Juan Antonio Cabrera is one of the happiest guys I’ve ever seen, yet he’s been paralyzed since he was 11.

We have a relatively easy time making money and a little monetary donation from us can go a long way in helping those in developing countries.  $1 buys a candy bar here, it buys a lot more there.

Here’s how it works

  • Donate in one of two ways:
    • PayPal – just click here
    • Go to a Wells Fargo, say you need to do a deposit to Jefferson Cloward’s account (I’m the only one) – make sure it goes into the account nicknamed “Nicaragua Donations” (the account that ends in -5784).  The teller will know what to do from there.
  • Let me know that you donated so I can keep a tally and let you know where your donation went!  Click here to send me an email.
  • Share it on Facebook, email, or whatever you want.  Let’s see how many people we can get involved with this!  Something like “I donated $5, you guys should check it out and donate too!” with a link to this article so they can read what it’s about.

Thanks

Above all – thanks for your support!  There are two weeks left before the trip, and so much to do.  I can’t wait to start!

Special thanks to my friend Mario for providing the jersey in the picture above, and to my friend Lilia Davis (Davis and Davis Translators) for helping me translate the letter I wrote to him (my Spanish is good . . . but not amazing, and she helped me translate what I wanted to say perfectly).  We sent him a few baseball DVD’s and the jersey at his request after my trip – it’s his favorite sport and the Braves are his favorite team.  🙂  (Read The Great Jersey Hunt!)

4 thoughts on “Donate to a Nicarguan Through Me – Round 2!”

What do you think?

