Stalking Awareness Week

Did you know that 3.4 million Americans are victims of stalking each year? A broader study shows that 14 out of every 1000 people are stalked each year. That means that in Austin there are likely going to be 11,488 victims this year . . . in the Salt Lake City metropolitan area there will be 13,564.

How much do you understand about stalking? What would you do if you or someone you knew were being followed, monitored, and repeatedly contacted and harassed by someone else?  Their individual actions wouldn’t be enough to lock them up or get legal protection . . . or would they?  There’s nothing illegal about calling someone 30 times a day . . . so what could you do?

In this week’s “Philanthropist of the Week” I’ll be featuring a local Austin business owner and previous victim of stalking, telling her story and what she does now to support victims of stalking and abuse. I’ll be tossing out a lot of stats along with my article later this week, talking about the problems in the legal system right now and showing what can be done to STOP a stalker.

I hope you’ll join me this week in getting to know more about this serious subject. My goal is to sift through all the information and present it to you in a clear way so that by the end of this week you’ll be a pro.

Most of my short stats will be on TWP’s Facebook page, so make sure to toss me a “like” there!

Start by taking this short quiz to see how much you know about stalking and letting me know your score in a comment below!

********

ps – I just made up “Stalking Awareness Week” . . . so . . . ya.  There is a Stalking Awareness Month, but . . . that’s not until January.  October actually is Domestic Violence Awareness Month, and stalking is often committed by ex-partners, but I’m focusing on stalking specifically . . . so I created my own awareness week 🙂

5 thoughts on “Stalking Awareness Week”

  1. I only got a 60% on the stalking quiz!! This is interesting stuff, though, and it sounds absolutely terrifying. Thanks for making Stalker Awareness Week! Perhaps it should be Jefferson Cloward Presents: Stalker Awareness Week…

    1. I got 60% the first time too! Some of the questions have surprising answers; there are a lot of misconceptions we all have about stalking. The scary thing, to me, is that . . . it seems difficult to get a conviction, or to know what to do. Being stalked is confusing, often the victim feels somewhat responsible, or ashamed of it . . . so they don’t get the information they need. Or they may be controlled and monitored so much that they can’t.

      The group I’m featuring this week gives free legal services and guidance to victims of stalking, domestic violence, and sexual abuse – stay tuned! 🙂

  2. It appears to me that this web site doesnt load up on a Motorola Droid. Are other folks getting the exact same issue? I enjoy this blog and dont want to have to skip it whenever Im away from my computer.

What do you think?

