TWP’s Philanthropist of the Week!

Allow me to introduce you to the new segment on my blog:  Philanthropist of the Week!  Each week I’ll be interviewing a different philanthropist and featuring them on this blog and other publications in the Austin area.  I want to ask questions they normally don’t hear so I can write about what it would be like to be them.  What inspired them to choose their area of work?  What is the biggest challenge they face?  Where do they raise money and how do they spend it to accomplish the most they can?  What is their family life like?  What personal doubts do they have?  With each interview I want to paint the picture of what their world is like.  I hope you’ll join me for this weekly segment, learn with me, connect with these great groups, and get a better idea of how you’d like to donate your time and money and how you can mimic these influential people in the area you’re passionate about.

Over the past three months I have met some incredible people and worked some unique and inspiring groups.  I’m excited to get started and to meet more great philanthropists along the way.

Here’s how you can help!

1) Follow the blog!  There is a link to the right that will let you sign up to receive an email each time I write a post.  Having a high number of followers gives philanthropists more incentive to meet with me – since they know their interview will go to a wide audience – and will help me build a good future in writing.  If you would like to learn with me about how you can give more meaningfully – subscribe!  My goal is to get to 500 followers in one week.  Help me out and I think we can do it 🙂

2) Let friends know.  If any of these stories inspire you – share them with other people!  Lets accomplish something good together by helping these great people get their story out there.  There are 1.1 million active non-profits in the United States and 6% of those are receiving 94% of donations, which means funds are going to the same large non-profits each year (Red Cross, etc.).  I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, but smaller non-profits are typically very efficient, are volunteer-only, and have a great mission they deserve help with.  I’d love to help them get there.

3) Come back next week for the first TWP’s Philanthropist of the Week!

What do you think?

