The 3 Donation Projects Funded By You!

Two days before I left for Nicaragua I decided to open up the donation coffers and give you all the chance to help a Nicaraguan in need through me.  In those two days $250 was donated!  Woot for my first fund raising event!  Since the average income in Nicaragua is a little over $1,000, that much money can go a long way when put in the right place.  The problem is . . . who to help?  After directly experiencing the negative side effects of charity in Granada and San Juan (free-loaders and loss of personal responsibility) I felt inadequate to judge who could use the money the best, so I asked the locals from the non-profits I was working with to point me in the right direction; to send me to a great person in their community but who was in need and really deserved a break.  So, without further adieu, here are the three recipients of your donations :)

Juan Antonio Carbrera

Juan, a kindred spirit to myself, was climbing a tree when he was 11, fell out and landed badly on his back, resulting in his paralysis neck-down ever since.  Sometimes I go to a charity program and try to help out and just end up feeling crappy by the end of it – the drag of seeing people who are depressed and out of luck can pull you down.  The opposite was true with Juan – he is a bright, happy, talkative, and funny guy who makes the best of his situation and stays positive in spite of always seeing what he can’t do because of his accident.  He has a supportive family, staying with his brother and his sister in law, who foot the bill for his medications, his depends, food, and other care.  That can be expensive, so we wanted to help them out while at the same time adding a little comfort to Juan’s life, who spends most of his time in bed.  After chatting with him and his sister-law-for a bit, Alejandro and I took a trip into Rivas to pick up the goods (30 minutes away).  This is what we picked up:

10 packages of depends (the kind Juan likes best) to help out the family with costs of care – $65.

A brand new orthopedic mattress to replace the one he was using, which was over 10 years old.  It gets hot in Nicaragua, in case you don’t know, and fans only go so far – this bed won’t only be more comfortable, but also help keep him cool.  We got a 34% discount from the mattress dealer since it was for charity – $102.

4 cases of Juan’s favorite drink: Powerade – $30.

“La Viejita” – (“little old lady,” but more endearing sounding in spanish . . . )

This woman has a pretty sad story, but continues forward regardless of the difficulties in her past.  She is 65 years old and lives by herself about 10 minute’s drive from Rio Blanco on a rough dirt road.  Her husband died years ago, and her two sons became drunks, ran the farm into the ground, and left her to herself.  Each day she goes to a nearby farm that lets her pick limes and then walks to town to sell them for .5 Cordobas each (a little over 2 cents), usually making 30 Cordobas a day, which she lives off of.  We got to her home a little late, as the sun was setting, and she was already about ready to lie down to sleep.  The smoke was thick and the room dark, and there were a few chickens there to keep her company, but other than that she was alone.  I couldn’t help but think of my grandma and imagine her in these conditions, abandoned by those she had raised.  But the community continually reaches out in the ways they can – by giving her rides, helping organize donations through the churches, letting her pick the limes, and letting her live in her home by the side of the road.  We were able to buy her $25 worth of food – 2 bags of rice, 2 bags of sugar, 2 bags of corn meal, coffee, quaker oatmeal, 4 pouches of instant soup, a loaf of bread, a soft fleece blanket, and soap.

Jader Roberto Rivera Lopez

Giving in Nicaragua

14 days ago, after sunset, Jader was a few blocks away from his home when a rough guy he knew called out to him from across the street.  This guy had broken his sister’s arm a few years back and gone unpunished, so Jader didn’t respond, which angered the drunken man.  The man came up to Jader, who was sitting on the curb by himself, and tried to kill him . . . hacking at him with his machete, something commonly carried in the area to cut underbrush and kill snakes.  Jader showed me the scars . . . one across his neck on the muscle right next to the jugular, one across his belly, and the rest on his arms.  Shocked, surprised, and badly hurt, he somehow stumbled to his knees amidst the blows, got up unto his feet, and started to run.  He made it close to his home by the time he collapsed into a gutter; highly polluted water flowed into the wounds in his left arm, forcing it’s amputation a few hours later in the hospital.  Jader has had a difficult life; his father died when he was young, leaving 8 kids to his widowed mother.  She was strong, selling tortillas and doing laundry to support the family, and taught her children to be hard workers.  Jader became a truck driver for livestock in the area – now, with one arm gone, he’s planning on starting a little shop and selling goods from it.  He’s a faithful member of a local Evangelical church, and stated “Since I’m alive, there must be a purpose,” and believes god will help him accomplish that and make a good living.  His assailant, yet again, goes unpunished, but he’s trying to avoid anger, having faith that God will see to justice in the end.  We had only $25 left, so we bought him some supplies – 1 bag of rice, 1 bag of sugar, 40 small packages of instant oatmeal, 2 bars of soap, toilet paper, powdered milk, toothbrush and toothpaste, and gave him 300 Cordobas ($13) in cash to use with medication or whatever else he needs.  It will cost him about $1,000 to start his shop, for which he’ll probably take out a loan, if he qualifies, at a rate of 12 to 14%.

Thank you so much for your donation – for making this experience possible for the beneficiaries, letting me be a part of it, and letting yourself be uplifted by it as well.  This is the kind of thing that makes living more frugally meaningful; the impact of a small amount of savings can mean a world of difference to someone in a developing country.  The issue with donating is making sure the resources aren’t crippling the productivity of the recipient, the funds are going to someone truly deserving, and that a large percentage of the donation isn’t lost to administrative costs.  While these types of projects for these 3 are crucial and meaningful, my goal over the next year is to find a focus for non-profit efforts that doesn’t just attempt to alleviate the pain of a few, but create uplift in the system as a whole; a sustainable, self-directed program for and by the people themselves which will help others like these three for generations to come.  So – please subscribe, share your thoughts, and lets find that focus together.  Thanks for reading!

(p.s. – special thanks to Alejandro at Comunidad Connect and Maria Inez at Project Schoolhouse for working with me to find good people and a good way to help them)

About Jefferson

Hi there! I'm, uh . . . I'm me. Well thank you, it's good to meet you too. Click on over to my two blogs and read some of my words, then write some of your own :) View all posts by Jefferson

14 responses to “The 3 Donation Projects Funded By You!

  • Nathan

    This makes a big brother proud. It’s so nice to be able to see the direct impact that charity can have as well as the reality of some of the problems charitable organizations face. I’m so so excited to see where this takes you Jeff. Hopefully your passion catches on and we see this benefit more and more people!
    Love ya tons, and very proud to be your brother and best friend.

  • Emily

    Jefferson, I’m so proud of you for doing this, and all these stories touched me. You’re such a brave, good man, and you’re inspiring me to be more frugal and to think about how lucky I am in my life to have plenty of food, and not worry about so many of the things that these people go without. I will be donating to your cause very soon. You have a lot to the give the world and I’m rooting for you all the way. Love ya!

    • Jefferson

      Thanks Em – you have a lot to offer with your psychology and social work experience – I look forward to your input :) And I’ll be taking a trip again this fall, if all goes to plan, so I’ll let you know when so you can donate if you’d like. Love ya too.

  • Buddy Lindsey

    This was amazing for me, and I’m sure for you too. Thank you.

  • Rea Jo Walton

    The eys on my computer are suddenly not all wor ing, but you’ll get my drift when I say: THAN YOU THAN YOU THAN YOU, efferson, for posting this and for ma ing a strong effort to find worthy recipients. Li e Emily, I find myself thin ing, often, about whether I actually need something, or whether there’d be more happiness in giving it for someone else’s benefit. It’s great that you’re going bac in the Fall — I promise not to worry one tiny bit, this time!!

    TO EVERYBODY ELSE: Please consider donating to efferson’s trip in the Fall on a monthly basis, so that he is not carrying all the cost of this good wor on his own.

    • Jefferson

      Mom – thanks for the shout out – but I’m going to keep footing the bill for the trips myself. All donations will go directly through my hands to someone while I’m on each trip, nothing paying for any traveling or administration costs.

      :)

    • Jefferson

      And there’s a great story that goes a long with what you and Emily said, I’ll hopefully be writing it up soon!

  • Jon Thompson – Community Development Guru – Philanthropist of the Week #2! « The Weekend Philanthropist

    […] Connect, and all you who donated partnered to give to Juan Cabrera, a well-deserving local, click here.  Much thanks to all the other great employees and volunteers I had the chance to work with while […]

  • Hugo

    I think that what you did was amazing.I remember one time when we were young, my grandma took me deep into mexico and we stopped at a ranch in the middle of nowhere for the night. I remember that they were trying to start a fire using matches and rocks but it was to windy. When my grandpa pulled out two of those BBQ lighters from the back of the van and handed them to him. I ended up passing through there, one more time before my grandma died and all those connections were lost, I remember that they threw us a big feast in honor of the gift that we had given them years prior which was still in used. They were so eternally grateful for these two lighters which at the most could not have cost more than $5, they claimed it improved their quality of life tremendously since they didn’t have to spend time to get a fire going. I always wished I could go back and take them a pack of 1000 lighters that are available at Costco for $10.

    • Jefferson

      Hey Hugo, thanks for reading – I’m glad you enjoyed it! It is amazing the things we take for granted here, and the impact a little saving and work on our end can make for someone else – even from simple things like lighters and clean water. Let us know if you ever go back!

  • A Large Mouth and a Big Platter « The Weekend Philanthropist

    […] lost about 90% of the time unless we get her Spanish going fast). We’ll be revisiting the three people you readers helped donate to and see how things are going with them, and are planning some new mini-projects that you can help […]

  • Tab Barker – Minimalist Philanthropist – PW#5! « The Weekend Philanthropist

    […] María is the one who helped me find “La Viejita” and Jader, two of the recipients of donations you gave through me (click).  She has a big heart and is one of the keys to Tab’s success in Río Blanco, a perfect […]

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 596 other followers

